How and where to save your work
Save your work regularly and in a secure location, we recommend using OneDrive.
If you are in a computer lab or working on an email attachment, make sure you save your work regularly using the Save As function, not the Save function or you will lose your work.
Back up your work and your assignments.
Saving your work
Your OneDrive is accessible from any device with internet connection:
- Log in to myUWE using your UWE Bristol username and password and click on UWE email.
- Navigate to Office 365 (top left) and then OneDrive.
- Files and folders can be added through the Upload button on the top ribbon.
Important note: we recommend that you do not access your email from any other links or sources (eg a Google search).
- Each student is provided with a free 5TB OneDrive account from Microsoft that is accessible from within Office 365 and tied to your email account.
- It is secure because this space can only be accessed by you and is automatically backed up on Microsoft servers so files can be restored if deleted.
H: Drive (personal home drive)
- On campus the H: Drive will appear in the usual list of drives when logged on to a UWE Bristol PC or Mac. On a Mac be aware that the symbols for the Home location of the Mac and the H: Drive look very similar.
- From home you will need to use the XA (eXternal Access) service for access to your personal H: Drive.
- UWE Bristol allocates every student 1GB of space on its servers.
- It is secure because this space can only be accessed by you and is automatically backed up so files can be restored if deleted.
- If you get close to, or exceed, this space allocation you will not be able to save or copy files to it. A full H: Drive can affect your ability to log on or use some programs as profile and temporary files are stored here. To reduce the size:
- delete old and unnecessary files
- move files to OneDrive or your own personal storage space
- reduce the size of graphics files by reducing the resolution where possible.
View available space
- Within Windows Explorer, go to This PC.
- Right click on (H:).
- Select Properties.
You will be presented with a pie chart showing the used and free home drive space.
- Within Finder go to My computer.
- Right click on Home (H:).
- Select Get Info.
The space left is shown under Available.
Blackboard content system
Blackboard provides a personal storage area, accessible from the Blackboard Content Collection tab.
- All students have an allocation of 40Mb of storage space for the purpose of storing assignments and GDP materials for use in Blackboard.
- It is not intended for long term general data storage. Guidance for students is available on the Blackboard support website.
USB memory sticks
This is our least favoured method of saving work and not recommended as the primary working area for saving work. They need to be used with caution for the following reasons:
- Data can easily be corrupted. To reduce this risk use the Remove hardware safely option.
- They are not very robust and easily damaged.
- They are easily lost. Any items IT Services found are handed in to Lost Property.
- They should be encrypted and password protected. Sensitive information should not be stored on them and you may want to consider the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) when saving sensitive information. Please refer to best practice on secure storage.
- Some are formatted to only work on Macs or PCs which can be inconvenient if moving between different platforms.
- If you do decide to use a USB stick, make sure you load the file onto the computer before working on it, then save finished work to either your H: Drive or OneDrive and then to your USB stick.
Restoring your work
How to restore a file or folder
Copies of the files and folders in your H: Drive are backed up every 15 minutes and kept for 14 days. If you delete a file or simply want to go back to an older version you can restore.
To restore a folder:
- Within Windows Explorer, select the folder you wish to restore by left clicking on it once.
- Right click and choose Restore Previous Versions. A list of each copy of the selected folder is shown in a pop-up window, along with the date it was made.
- Select the version required and choose either Open, Copy or Restore:
- Open: this will open the selected version of the folder (eg the folder as it was at the point in time chosen).
- Copy: this will copy the selected version of the folder to a location of choice. The copy will be the folder as it was at the point in time chosen (requires right click on the folder to access this option).
- Restore: this will restore the selected version of the folder over the existing copy of that folder.
To restore a file:
- Within Windows Explorer, select the folder where the restore is required byleft clicking on it.
- Right click and choose Restore Previous Versions. A list of each copy of the selected folder is shown in a pop-up window.
- Select the version required and choose Open. The folder will open and the date of the version will be shown in the address bar.
- Select the required file, right click and choose Copy.
- Paste the file in a location of your choice. The file will now be restored to that location.
Information on restoring deleted files or folders in OneDrive can be found via Microsoft Office Support.