Science Communication Unit members

A variety of staff and students work with the Science Communication Unit on our practical, academic and postgraduate project portfolio.

Academic staff

Research staff

PhD students


  • Andreia Jorge PhD aim is to understand how plant diversity communication is performed, both from the institutions’ perspective and communicators’ angle.
  • David Judge in collaboration with the Eden Project, working on their current exhibition Invisible Worlds.
  • Pedro Larfargue Advanced traceability technologies to improve the supply chain of the multibillion cocoa and chocolate industry.
  • Elena Milani Vaccine movements on social media: a visual and network analysis.
  • Achintya Rao Exploration of factors that shape attitudes towards outreach within the particle physics research community. Funded by the CERN Doctoral Student Programme.  
  • Andy Ridgway Exploring ways to change food waste behaviour in family households with children in the UK.


SCU Associates

SCU Associates are colleagues who either engage with us through collaboration or co-delivery of teaching or research projects, or are active in science communication/public engagement, but who have not - to date - collaborated with the SCU.

Our Associate network aims to strengthen academic public engagement across UWE, while recognising and celebrating the invaluable contribution of colleagues who work with the SCU.

  • Emmanuel Adukwu, Lecturer in Microbiology
  • Dawn Arnold, Professor in Molecular Plant Pathology
  • Mandy Bancroft, HLS Faculty Lead for Widening Participation
  • Jo Barnes, Research Fellow: Air Quality Management Resource Centre / Programme Leader: MSc Environmental Management
  • Steve Battle, Senior Lecturer in Information Science
  • Juliet Edmonds, Senior Lecturer in Science  
  • Mark Everard, Associate Professor of Ecosystem Services
  • Bernhard Gross, Associate Professor
  • John Hancock, Professor of Cell Signalling
  • Enda Hayes, Associate Professor - Air Quality and Carbon Management and Director of the Air Quality Management Resource Centre
  • Alison Hooper, Associate Head of Department of EDM
  • Ioannis Ieropoulos, Professor - Bioenergy and Self-sustainable Systems
  • Matthew Jones, Associate Professor of Public Health  
  • Fay Lewis, Programme Leader- MA Education
  • Debbie Lewis, Molecular Biology/ Immunology Technician
  • Patrick O'Flynn, Senior Lecturer in Building Services and Energy Management
  • Danni Sinnett, Senior Research Fellow
  • Alan Tapp, Professor of Social Marketing