Meet the Chaplaincy team

Find out more about the team and how they can support you

Julie Nicholson - Coordinating Chaplain

I have worked in parish ministry, hospital chaplaincy, theatre and broadcasting. I enjoy walking by the sea, people, stories and writing. I am available for pastoral and spiritual support for students and staff; including bereavement support and a friendly listening ear when life gets tough.

Email: Julie.Nicholson@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 84142

Julie Nicholson

Chaplaincy Administrator

Becky Dale – Chaplaincy Administrator

Email: Becky.Dale@uwe.ac.uk
Tel:+44 (0)11732 86735

Associate Chaplains

Associate Chaplains are faith and spirituality volunteers who provide support to the Coordinating Chaplain, including leading prayer or worship. Each Associate Chaplain will have their own faith, belief or spirituality and areas of particular interest but are available to provide pastoral care to staff and students of all faiths and none. Associate Chaplains may be UWE Bristol staff members or external community partners.

Corrine Brown – Associate Chaplain (Methodist)

I am a Methodist Deacon and support the work of the Bristol Methodist Centre for the homeless and minister to two small churches in the city. I am here to support students of any faith or none and offer confidential space to talk about spiritual or personal concerns.

Email: Corinne2.Brown@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 9551934

Corinne Brown

Jacqueline Conradie-Faul – Associate Chaplain (Anglican)

I am the International Students Chaplain at the University of Bristol and have been involved in Chaplaincy life at UWE Bristol since 2005. I place a high value on building relationships unconditionally and without prejudice and am happy to speak to students of any faith or belief.

Email: Jacqueline.Conradie-Faul@uwe.ac.uk

Jacqueline Conradie Faul

Lynsey-Ruth Mansfield – Associate Chaplain (Anglican)

I can provide a listening ear and pastoral care to those of any religion or belief, and offer support for those new to the faith or exploring it for the first time. I have experience operating in interdenominational and interfaith contexts within both UWE Bristol and the charity sector.

Email: Lynsey2.Mansfield@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 82152

Lynsey Ruth Mansfield

Rob Stewart – Associate Chaplain (Anglican)

I work part-time as a senior lecturer on the Glenside campus helping with Diagnostic Radiography BSc and the Foundation Program. I am an ordained minister in the Church of England, working mainly in rural parishes. My interests are primarily in well being and mental health awareness.

Email: Rob.Stewart@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 3288920

Rob Stewart

Faith Representatives

As part of our commitment to the health and wellbeing of our students and staff, we have faith and spirituality representatives from across the university who are available for one-to-one conversations, pastoral care and advice from a faith-based or spiritual perspective. 

Students and staff are welcome to contact any of the reps and make arrangements to meet on campus, online or on the phone. All our reps work within safeguarding and confidentiality guidelines.

Abdullahi Arabo
Faith Representative – Muslim
Abdullahi.Arabo@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 87162

Ian Brooks
Faith Representative – Christian (Anglican)
Ian.Brooks@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 87078

Areas of specialism: faith and the environment, and faith and the difference it makes in practice and in business.

Lauren Davis
Faith Representative – general
Lauren3.Davis@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 88261

Valerie Russell Emmott
Faith Representative – Jewish (Liberal)
Valerie.Russellemmott@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 82624

Areas of specialism: meditation and spirituality, inclusivity, self-care and mindfulness.

Geoff Solomon-Sims
Faith Representative – Christian (Baptist)
Geoffrey2.Sims@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 87429

Areas of specialism: faith and doubt, pastoral listening.

Mark Tomlinson-Lane
Faith Representative – Catholic
Mark2.Tomlinson@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)11732 87838

Areas of specialism: Traditional Catholicism, pro-life, Patristics, Catholic apologetics.

Debbie Wright
Faith Representative – Christian (Evangelical)
Debbie.Wright@uwe.ac.uk

Areas of specialism: stress management, bereavement support.

If you are unsure which rep to contact or have a general faith and spirituality based question, please contact our Coordinating Chaplain, Julie Nicholson at email: Julie.Nicholson@uwe.ac.uk