IT Services works to minimise the impact of improvements, changes and maintenance. Here you will find details of the different types of interruptions and periods that IT Services schedules interruptions to services.

Please see the IT Services Status Hub to check for any known incidents or unplanned interruptions, details of what we are doing, when it will happen and what the impact is on IT service provisions.

IT Services will keep you informed about what work we are carrying out and how it will affect you.

Essential maintenance

There may be times where we need to carry out essential maintenance to ensure continued service and minimise the disruptions to students and staff.

During these times, the overall IT system will operate as normal. However, particular services or portions of the network may be taken out of service so that security patches, operating system upgrades and bug fixes can be applied.

Maintenance weekends

Maintenance weekends involve the shutdown of all IT Services provisions to students and staff.

Dates of agreed maintenance weekends:

Start

Finish

16:30 - Friday 16 July 2021

08:30 - Monday 19 July 2021

16:30 - Friday 17 December 2021

08:30 - Monday 20 December 2021

16:30 - Friday 8 July 2022

08:30 - Monday 11 July 2022

16:30 - Friday 16 December 2022

08:30 - Monday 19 December 2022

16:30 - Friday 7 July 2023

08:30 - Monday 10 July 2023

How maintenance weekends will affect you

During the shutdown weekends, there will be no centrally managed IT service.
This includes services such as:

  • Blackboard
  • myUWE
  • wifi networks
  • email systems
  • electronic library databases and services
  • all on-campus PC labs
  • UWE Bristol eXternal Access (XA)
  • UWE Bristol network (LAN).