Sustainability contacts

UWE Bristol and The Students' Union at UWE have many staff who can provide information about our whole institution approach to sustainability. The people listed below are the key contacts who should be able to answer any questions you might have.

If you cannot find the person you need please email us at sustainability@uwe.ac.uk.

Contacts

Sustainability leads

Professor James Longhurst

Assistant Vice-Chancellor: Environment and Sustainability
Email: james.longhurst@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83692

Contact Jim for Institutional Policy, Sustainability Board, Governance and integration of sustainability; Sustainable Development Goals, Education for Sustainable Development, Sustainability Research and Knowledge Exchange, the Bristol Green Capital Partnership, the EAUC (the Alliance for Sustainability Leadership), Climate Commission for UK HE and FE Students and Leaders, and the Institution of Environmental Sciences.

Paul Roberts

Head of Environment and Sustainability
Email: paul5.roberts@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83591

Contact Paul about our overall sustainability strategy, our 2030 goals and our good practice in embedding sustainability in all areas of operation on campus; also for the work of the sustainability team on campus, and for support with student projects.

The Students' Union at UWE

Faith Terry-Doyle

Sustainability Officer
Email: faith.terry-doyle@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 81792

Contact Faith for information and advice on the Student Union at UWE’s sustainability projects, events and campaigns and on how to get involved in the Green Team.

The Green Team

Email: thegreenteam@uwe.ac.uk

Get involved in sustainability projects, events and campaigns from community garden to sustainable period products. Follow the Green Team on Instagram, Twitter or join the Facebook group.

Vanique Kruger

Chair of Sustainability committee
Email: suofficer.sustainability@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Vanique to find out more about the Green Team and student engagement and mobilisation.

Evan Botwood

President
Email: president@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Evan for The Students' Union at UWE's strategic approach to sustainability and how it is put into practice. Evan welcomes your feedback and ideas on how to take things forward on campus.

Oluwadamilola Okeyoyin 

VP Education
Email: vpeducation@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Dami for advice, information and answers on The Students' Union at UWE's approach to sustainability within the curriculum, including our sustainability course representatives, NUS Responsible Futures accreditation and our initiatives to Decolonise the Curriculum.

Rachel Colley

Community Manager
Email: rachel2.colley@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 82010

Contact Rachel for Community, SU Volunteering, NUS Green Impact and Responsible Futures accreditations and associated actions on campus.

Education for Sustainable Development 

Dr Georgina Gough

Associate Professor in Education for Sustainable Development
Programme Leader: MSc Sustainable Development in Practice
Email: georgina.gough@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87139

Contact Georgina for support with embedding sustainability in teaching and learning and the Knowledge Exchange for Sustainability Education group (KESE) at UWE Bristol, information on PRME (Principles of Responsible Management in Education), our Responsible Futures Accreditation and our award-winning mapping of the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals within the curriculum at the University. 

Olivia Lelong

Email: olivia.lelong@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86982

Contact Olivia to find out about our Changing Climate Network which aims to draw together UWE Bristol staff with interests that converge on the causes and consequences of climate change, encourage cross-disciplinary collaborations and support funding bids for related research. 

Dr Sarah Hills

Senior Lecturer: Geography and Environmental Management
Email: sarah.hills@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86449

Contact Sarah for information about the integration of sustainability into teaching and learning at UWE Bristol.

Philippa Shelton

Head of Research and Knowledge Exchange Services RBI
Email: philippa.shelton@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83306

Contact Philippa for Research and Knowledge Exchange support.

Carbon Energy and Water

Alan Cook

Water Projects Officer
Email: alan.cook@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 3287128

Contact Alan for information on our water management strategy and our practice and progress in monitoring and reduction on the ground.

Melissa Clarke

Energy Projects Officer (part-time 0.7)
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86515
Email: melissa2.clarke@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Melissa for our energy data and details of student engagement activities in our accommodation.

Kirsti Norris

Energy Manager
Email: kirsti.norris@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87320

Contact Kirsti about our energy and water strategies and services, Carbon Management Plan and associated carbon reduction measures, implementation of the energy management standard, ISO 50001 and also for our Carbon Action Culture change programme.

Abbie Basketter

Carbon Action Manager
Email: abbie.basketter@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 85125

Contact Abbie for information and advice on reducing carbon emissions at UWE, including specific Faculty and Professional Services data and targets, climate action cafes and other engagement events.

Communications engagement and practice based learning

Vicki Harris

Sustainability Engagement Coordinator
Email: vicki.harris@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 82658

Contact Vicki for student and staff engagement e.g. staff climate action cafes, UWE Green week, Fairtrade Fortnight and support with incorporating sustainability in teaching and learning.

Environmental management system – ISO14001

Louise Hart

Environment and Systems Officer
Email: louise3.hart@uwe.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87207

Contact Louise for details of how we ensure continuous improvement in Sustainability under the ISO 14001certification system and for related advice on Environmental Management.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity

Jamie Darwen

EDI Projects Lead
Email: jamie.darwen@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86342

Contact Jamie for Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity related to Sustainability and for the Community Fund.

Grounds and Biodiversity

Richie Fluester

Grounds Manager
Email: richie.fluester@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 3283046

Contact Richie about Biodiversity and sustainable gardening practices in the management of our grounds, plus the UWE Beeline, the Community Garden and student growing project. Also for opportunities for student projects - eg species surveying, film assignments and more.

Hospitality

Kristian Fernandez-Mitchell

Business Improvement Manager, HS
Email: kristian.fernandez-mitchell@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 84556

Contact Kristian about sustainability in our supply chains and the delivery of our hospitality services and in particular, 'Going for gold' Bristol Sustainable Food city accreditation and Fairtrade.

IT Services

Marcus Falla

Service Operations Manager (Infrastructure)
Email: marcus.falla@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87432

Contact Marcus for information on sustainability in the procurement and implementation of our IT Services.

Procurement

Helen Baker

Head of Procurement
Email: helen.baker@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Helen for information on all our sustainable procurement practices, the Southern Universities Purchasing Consortium and Partners in Procurement. 

Sustainability strategic projects

Fiona Shadbolt

Sustainability Strategic Projects Officer
Email: fiona.shadbolt@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83619

Contact Fiona for help in embedding environment and sustainability policies and practices, including reducing carbon emissions and single use plastics ,sustainability reporting, and how to get involved in our sustainable labs programme LEAF.

Travel

Chris Donnelley

Travel and Access manager
Email: chris.donnelly@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83924

Contact Chris for the overview of our travel services and our Travel Plan, including how UWE is going to address our 2030 carbon neutral target, our sustainable travel initiatives and student and staff engagement.

Robert Cox

Senior Operations manager
Email: robert.cox@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83265

Contact Rob for queries advice and information about all our Travel Services.

Sophie Prosser

Public Realm Officer
Email: sophie.prosser@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87601

Contact Sophie for sustainable travel modes in particular public transport cycling and walking plus health and safety in the external space around, between and within buildings, including footpaths, roads, and open spaces on UWE Bristol campuses. Also for our ISO140001 auditing of external spaces.

Waste and Resources

Jennifer Fawcett-Thorne

Waste and Resources Manager
Email: jennifer.fawcett-thorne@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 54114

Contact Jen about our waste prevention, reuse and recycling policies and practices, the furniture reuse project and other sustainable waste projects.

Adam Green

Sustainability Projects Officer
Email: adam.green@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Adam about our student engagement programme, waste, reuse and recycling policies and practices, the furniture reuse project and other sustainable waste projects.

David Nash

Waste and Resources Supervisor
Email: david2.nash@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Dave about operational waste issues or queries, ad hoc collections and skip bookings.

Contact us

If you have any queries, feedback or suggestions:

Sustainability team
North Avon House
UWE Bristol
Frenchay Campus
Coldharbour Lane
Bristol BS16 1QY

Email: sustainability@uwe.ac.uk

Find us on Facebook and Instagram and visit The Students' Union Green Team.