Sustainability contacts

UWE Bristol and The Students' Union at UWE have many staff who can provide information about our whole institution approach to sustainability. The people listed below are the key contacts who should be able to answer any questions you might have.

If you cannot find the person you need please email us at sustainability@uwe.ac.uk.

Contacts

Sustainability leads

Professor Elena Marco

Pro Vice-Chancellor and Head of College: CATE (College of Arts Technology and Environment) and Chair of the Sustainability Executive committee
Email: elena.marco@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 81503

Contact Elena for Institutional Policy, Sustainability Board, Governance and integration of sustainability.

Paul Roberts

Head of Environment and Sustainability
Email: paul5.roberts@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83591

Contact Paul about our overall sustainability strategy, our 2030 goals and our good practice in embedding sustainability in all areas of operation on campus; also for the work of the sustainability team on campus, and for support with student projects.

The Students' Union at UWE

Laura Thomas

Sustainability Engagement Officer
Email: laura9.thomas@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 81 547

Contact Laura for information and advice on the Student Union at UWE’s sustainability projects, events and campaigns and on how to get involved with the Green Team.

The Green Team

Email: thegreenteam@uwe.ac.uk

Get involved in sustainability projects, events and campaigns such as community gardening, swap shops, sustainable food events and more. Follow the Green Team on Instagram, X or join the Facebook group.

Chela Rossi

Student Sustainability Officer
Email: Chela2.Rossi@live.uwe.ac.uk

Contact Chela to find out more about her campaigns, manifesto, the Green Team and student engagement and mobilisation.

Kolawole Sameul Olure

President
Email: president@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Sam for The Students' Union at UWE's strategic approach to sustainability and how it is put into practice. Sam welcomes your feedback and ideas on how to take things forward on campus.

Fayaz Kareem

Vice President Community and Welfare
Email: vpcommwelfare@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Fayaz for The Students' Union at UWE's strategic approach to sustainability and how it is put into practice. Fayaz welcomes your feedback and ideas on how to take things forward on campus.

Rachel Colley

Community Manager
Email: rachel2.colley@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 82010

Contact Rachel for Community, SU Volunteering, NUS Green Impact and Responsible Futures accreditations and associated actions on campus.

Education for Sustainable Development 

Dr Georgina Gough

Professor in Education for Sustainable Development
Programme Leader: MSc Sustainable Development in Practice
Email: georgina.gough@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87139

Contact Georgina for support with embedding sustainability in teaching and learning and the Knowledge Exchange for Sustainability Education group (KESE) at UWE Bristol, information on PRME (Principles of Responsible Management in Education), our Responsible Futures Accreditation, the EAUC (the Alliance for Sustainability Leadership), and our award-winning mapping of the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals within the curriculum at the University. 

Lindsey Walker

Research and Knowledge Exchange Development Manager
Email: lindsey.walker@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Lindsey to find out about our Changing Climate Network which aims to draw together UWE Bristol staff with interests that converge on the causes and consequences of climate change, encourage cross-disciplinary collaborations and support funding bids for related research. 

Dr Sarah Hills

Senior Lecturer: Geography and Environmental Management
Email: sarah.hills@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86449

Contact Sarah for information about the integration of sustainability into teaching and learning at UWE Bristol.

Philippa Shelton

Head of Research and Knowledge Exchange Services RBI (Research Business and Innovation)
Email: philippa.shelton@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83306

Contact Philippa for Research and Knowledge Exchange support.

Carbon Energy and Water

Abbie Basketter

Carbon Action Manager
Email: abbie.basketter@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 85125

Contact Abbie for information and advice on reducing carbon emissions at UWE Bristol, including specific College and Professional Services data and targets, climate action cafes and other engagement events. Also, for information on the free student Climate Education course and staff Climate action programme.

Melissa Clarke

Energy Projects Officer (part-time 0.7)
Email: melissa2.clarke@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86515

Contact Melissa for our energy data and details of student engagement activities in our accommodation.

Thomas Finn

Carbon and Supply Chain Coordinator (Scope 3)
Email: thomas.finn@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87132

Contact Tom about measurement of our supply chain and associated Scope 3 emissions, and our journey to net zero by 2030.

Kirsti Norris

Energy Manager
Email: kirsti.norris@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87320

Contact Kirsti about our energy and water strategies and services, Carbon Management Plan and associated carbon reduction measures, implementation of the energy management standard, ISO 50001 and also for our Carbon Action Culture change programme.

Circular Economy and Responsible Consumption

Joanna Dainton

Head of Circular Economy and Responsible Consumption
Email: Joanna.dainton@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: 07920 246546

Contact Jo for information on our waste prevention, reuse and recycling activities as well as wider issues relating to the circular economy. 

Adam Green

Sustainable Projects Officer
Email: adam.green@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Adam about our student engagement programme, waste, reuse and recycling policies and practices, the furniture reuse project and other sustainable waste projects.

David Nash

Waste and Resources Supervisor
Email: david2.nash@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Dave about operational waste issues or queries, ad hoc collections and skip bookings.

Communications engagement and practice based learning

Vicki Harris

Sustainability Engagement Coordinator
Email: vicki.harris@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 82658

Contact Vicki for student and staff engagement, for example, staff climate action cafes, UWE Green Fortnight, Fairtrade Fortnight and support with incorporating sustainability in teaching and learning, and providing work based learning placements and student projects.

Environmental management system – ISO14001

Jeff Davey

Environmental Management Lead
Email: jeff.davey@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86183

Contact Jeff for information on ISO14001, The Times Higher Awards, a range of sustainable projects, such as our plastics reduction campaign, plus how to get involved in our sustainable labs programme LEAF. Jeff is also our volunteer bee keeper on campus and is happy to be contacted about this.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity

Jamie Darwen

EDI Projects Lead
Email: jamie.darwen@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86342

Contact Jamie for Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity related to Sustainability and for the Community Fund.

Grounds and Biodiversity

Richie Fluester

Grounds Manager
Email: richie.fluester@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 3283046

Contact Richie about biodiversity and sustainable gardening practices in the management of our grounds, plus the UWE Beeline, the Community Garden and student growing project. Also for opportunities for student projects - eg species surveying, film and journalism assignments and more.

Hospitality

Kristian Fernandez-Mitchell

Business Improvement Manager, House Services
Email: kristian.fernandez-mitchell@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 84556

Contact Kristian about sustainability in our supply chains and the delivery of our hospitality services and in particular, 'Going for gold' Bristol Sustainable Food city accreditation and Fairtrade.

IT Services

Marcus Falla

Service Operations Manager (Infrastructure)
Email: marcus.falla@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87432

Contact Marcus for information on sustainability in the procurement and implementation of our IT Services.

Procurement

Helen Baker

Head of Procurement
Email: helen.baker@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Helen for information on all our sustainable procurement practices, the Southern Universities Purchasing Consortium and Partners in Procurement.

Travel

Chris Donnelley

Travel and Access manager
Email: chris.donnelly@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83924

Contact Chris for the overview of our travel services and our Travel Plan, including how UWE is going to address our 2030 carbon neutral target, our sustainable travel initiatives and student and staff engagement.

Robert Cox

Senior Operations manager
Email: robert.cox@uwe.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83265

Contact Rob for queries advice and information about all our Travel Services. 

Contact us

If you have any queries, feedback or suggestions:

Sustainability team
North Avon House
UWE Bristol
Frenchay Campus
Coldharbour Lane
Bristol BS16 1QY

Email: sustainability@uwe.ac.uk

Find us on Instagram and visit The Students' Union Green Team.