Science Communication Unit conferences and seminars.

Upcoming events

Past events


Seminar Series

The Science Communication Unit runs an exciting seminar series throughout the year linked to the MSc Science Communication postgraduate programmes. Previous seminar speakers have included:

  • Justine Alford – IFL Science News Editor
  • Doug Allan – award-winning wildlife photographer and cameraman
  • Bridget Appleby - Producer, BBC Natural History Unit
  • Patrick Aryee – award-winning wildlife TV presenter
  • Dr Amy C Chambers - Senior Lecturer in Film and Media Studies at Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Professor Emily Dawson - University College London
  • Justin Dillon - Professor of Science and Environmental Education, Exeter University
  • Dr Peter Etchells - Reader in Psychology and Science Communication at Bath Spa University
  • Rebecca Ford - founder member of Bio-Diverse Project
  • Simon Garrett and Natasha Filer – Bristol Zoo
  • Andrea Geipel - PhD student at Post/Doc Lab Digital Media at the MCTS, Technical University of Munich
  • Tanith Hackney - founder member of Bio-Diverse Project
  • Tom Heap – BBC Countryfile presenter
  • Dr Sam Illingworth - Senior Lecturer in Science Communication, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Dr Hanne Knight - Lecturer in Marketing and programme leader for the MSc Digital and Social Media Marketing, University of Plymouth
  • Sophie Pavelle - Adventurous zoologist, science communicator and former MSc Science Communication Student, at UWE Bristol
  • Cristina Rigutto - Communications consultant and social media editor at Public Understanding of Science Journal
  • Ben Southwell – Series Producer, BBC History of Science Fiction
  • Anna Starkey – previous Creative Director of We The Curious in Bristol
  • Iain Stewart – Professor of Geoscience Communication at University of Plymouth and well-known science television presenter
  • Dr Rebecca Swenson - Associate Professor of Agricultural, Food, and Natural Resource Science Communication, University of Minnesota. 
  • Jasmine Trinder- founder member of Bio-Diverse Project
  • Brendan Walker – The Thrill Engineer

You may also be interested in