Centre for Fine Print Research University of the West of England Centre for Fine Print Research

Susanne Klein

Associate Professor

Susanne Klein

Dr Susanne Klein FInstP has been appointed a 5 year EPSRC Manufacturing Fellowship at the Centre for Fine Print Research starting January 2018. With her expertise in colloidal chemistry, optics and 3D printing, she is working on the reinvention of old printing technologies, such as Woodburytype and Lippmann photography, which will allow production of high quality prints for advertising, packaging, fashion and, at the same time, include fake-proof security features. By transferring the principals of historic, high quality, continuous tone printing processes to 2.5 D non-impact printing and the formulation of special inks, it will be possible to print any size on any substrate. Combining this new process with Lippmann photography will lead to a full colour, non-pixelated printing process with in-built security features.

Dr Klein has been part of collaborative projects with the University of Bristol, the University of Portsmouth, the Otto-van-Guericke Universitaet, Magdeburg (Germany), Kent State University (USA), Université du Luxembourg, the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, CNRS Université Paris-Sud (France) and the National Academy of Science of the Ukraine.

Dr Klein holds a diploma in theoretical physics and a PhD in medical physics. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics. She was a German Telecom Research Fellow and a Royal Society Research Associate. She is a member of the British Liquid Crystal Society, the Society for Imaging Science and Technology, the Diversity and Inclusion committee of the IOP, the External Advisory Board of the Manchester University School of Physics&Astronomy, the External Advisory Board of the Bristol Centre for Functional Nanomaterials and the conference committee of 'Measuring, Modeling, and Reproducing Material Appearance'.

After 3 years as Royal Society Research Associate at the University of Bristol, Dr Klein has worked for 19 years at Hewlett Packard and then at Hewlett Packard Enterprise. She is now Associate Professor at the Centre for Fine Print Research.​

Research grants awarded:
2018 - 2023 EPSRC Manufacturing Fellowship.