Centre for Fine Print Research University of the West of England Centre for Fine Print Research

Bristol and Bath By Design


AWARDING BODY: Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) and The Design Council
AWARDED TO: Stephen Hoskins
CO-INVESTIGATORS: Adrienne Noonan, Professor Jon Dovey, Associate Professor Glenn Parry, Professor Don Webber, Professor Chris McMahon, Pprofessor Anita Taylor, Professor Graham McLaren
RESEARCHER PARTICIPANTS: Dr Kayla Rose, Dr Pei-Ling Liao, Ellen Hughes, Dr Aaron Mo
INDUSTRIAL PARTNERS: West of England Design Forum (WEDF), Bristol Media, creative Bath, The West of England Local Enterprise Partnership, REACT
PROJECT DURATION: 3/11/2014 – 3/05/2016


The major research project, Bristol and Bath by Design, brings together researchers from the University of the West of England (UWE Bristol), University of Bristol and Bath Spa University to draw on expertise in design, creative arts, business and law, and mechanical engineering. They will work together to undertake the first comprehensive analysis of design in the region.

The principal aim of the project will be to provide a detailed analysis of the economic and cultural value of the design-led sector in the Bristol and Bath region, by deploying both quantitative and qualitative methods. This analysis will reveal how the complex design ecology of the Bristol/Bath region works and its importance to the regional and national economy.

This central aim has four subsidiary objectives:
An evidence based and systematic account of how creative design networks produce value for participants and regional economies.
A transferable methodology for mapping and evaluating design led enterprises in any region.
Improved data that will enable partner organisations to understand their economic and cultural value.
Recommendations for how regional and central authorities can support and strengthen regional design-led creative ecologies, acknowledging future challenges and skill requirements.

Funding Organisations

Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

Hewlett Packard (HP)

Knowledge Transfer Partnerships (KTP)

EU Marie Curie Actions

Research Councils UK (RCUK)

Newby Trust