

Honorary Degrees Committee

Purpose

The Honorary Degrees Committee has delegated responsibility from Academic Board and the Board of Governors for the scrutiny and approval of nominations for the award of Honorary Degrees.

Terms of Reference

- 1. To consider and where appropriate approve nominations for the award of Honorary Degrees.
- 2. To report its decisions to the Academic Board and the Board of Governors.

Composition

Vice-Chancellor, President and Chief Executive Officer Steve West Chair of the Committee

Two members of the Vice-Chancellor's Executive nominated by the Vice-Chancellor:

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost (Vice-Chair)

Amanda Coffey

Jo Midgley Registrar and Pro Vice-Chancellor Student Experience

Pro Vice-Chancellor & Heads of College (3) CBL: Yvonne Beach

CATE: Elena Marco
CHSS: James Lee

Two Independent members appointed by the Chair of Jenny Body the Board of Governors Grant Mansfield

Two members of the University professoriate nominated Olena Doran (CHSS) by Academic Board. Such nominations are not limited to Jim Smith (CATE) the membership of Academic Board.

These members shall have a term of office of 3 years.

In Attendance

Head of Governance; Governance Officer; Vice Chancellor's Office Representative, Head of Development and Alumni Relations.

Quoracy 33%

Frequency of meetings: One per year.

Updated January 2025 and approved by Academic Board, 26 February 2025.